Chipotle Gluten-Free Menu Gadgets (Restaurant Information)

If you wish to discover quick meals that’s made with out components that comprise gluten, Chipotle’s is an effective place to show. I’ve discovered this quick informal chain could be very clear about which components comprise wheat. Plus, few parts in Chipotle’s dishes record wheat or gluten as an allergen—actually, solely the flour tortilla accommodates gluten. As a result of you have got full management over which different parts go into your bowl, salad, or tacos, it’s additionally comparatively simple to keep away from different allergens like dairy. 

gluten free chipotle menu featured

Chipotle is usually a nice alternative when consuming out should you’re trying to keep away from gluten. Nevertheless, like all chain quick meals eating places, unintended gluten contamination from shared work areas and utensils is a danger at Chipotle. For those who keep away from gluten because of a well being situation like Celiacs, it’s at all times a good suggestion to talk along with your well being care supplier concerning the stage of precautions which can be best for you. If you have to keep away from any danger of consuming one thing doubtlessly contaminated with gluten, you might not wish to eat at Chipotle. 

Learn our full Chipotle gluten free information to search out out what to order in your subsequent journey to this widespread quick meals chain. 

an assortment of gluten free menu items at chiptole
An assortment of gluten free menu objects at Chipotle

Each dish at Chipotle is made-to-order along with your requested parts, and the one objects on the menu that comprise gluten are the flour tortillas, so every little thing else is on the desk. This consists of: 

  • Burrito bowls
  • Salads
  • Tacos with corn tortillas
  • Guacamole and chips

Moreover, the fountain drinks at Chipotle are gluten free. That features sodas, lemonades and aqua fresca drinks. As I write this, I’m having fun with the natural hibiscus lemonade. This may go with out saying, however some Chipotle places do have beer, so it would be best to keep away from that should you’re gluten illiberal.

barbacoa bowl
Chipotle Barbacoa Bowl

Gluten Free Protein Choices At Chipotle

Whereas I used to be researching the menu, I discovered that all the meat and protein choices at Chipotle are gluten-free. This consists of: 

  • Barbacoa
  • Black beans
  • Carnitas
  • Hen 
  • Hen al pastor (restricted time menu merchandise)
  • Pinto beans
  • Sofritas 
  • Steak
sofritas salad
Chipotle Sofritas Salad

Gluten Free Toppings At Chipotle

The entire toppings at Chipotle are additionally gluten free, together with: 

  • Brown rice
  • Chipotle honey French dressing
  • Fajita greens 
  • Recent tomato salsa
  • Guacamole
  • Monterey jack cheese
  • Queso blanco
  • Roasted chili-corn salsa 
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Bitter cream
  • Supergreens lettuce mix
  • Tomatillo green-chili salsa 
  • Tomatillo red-chili salsa 
  • Tortilla chips
  • White rice 
chips and guacamole and salsa
Chiptole Chips, Salsa, and Guacamole

Chipotle Gluten Intolerance Official Assertion

I respect that Chipotle publishes a helpful and user-friendly allergen chart on its web site, which you can see here and notes that the wheat and gluten “classes are mixed since all Chipotle gluten-containing objects comprise wheat.” 

The web page additionally says this almost about gluten:

“For those who keep away from gluten, don’t eat our flour tortillas. If you’re extremely delicate to gluten and would really like us to vary our gloves, simply tell us at the beginning of your order. You ought to be conscious objects containing corn, together with corn tortillas (chips and crispy corn tortillas) and corn salsa, could have hint quantities of gluten from doubtlessly co-mingling with gluten-containing grains within the subject.”

You too can ask the workers to make use of contemporary serving utensils to scoop your components, and in my expertise they often haven’t any difficulty accommodating this request. Personally, I feel it helps that I’m at all times tremendous pleasant when making these requests, and I at all times attempt to acknowledge that I’m slowing them down and I respect the additional effort. 

On a latest go to to Chipotle, the additional pleasant workers even let me know that if I used to be prepared to attend a couple of further minutes, they may make my tacos with a contemporary batch of guac from the again—which might decrease the danger of unintended contamination.  

carnitas tacos
Carnitas Tacos

What To Keep away from At Chipotle

If you wish to keep away from wheat when consuming at Chipotle, you’ll wish to keep away from the burritos, quesadillas, and delicate flour tacos. Apart from that, you possibly can construct bowls and salads with no matter parts you want. If you’d like tacos, you should definitely get the crispy corn shells. Moreover, some Chipotle places do promote beer, which accommodates gluten. 

FAQ’s 

Is Chipotle’s Hen Al Pastor gluten free?

Based on Chipotle’s website, the limited-time Hen Al Pastor is gluten-free. It’s seasoned with morita peppers, floor achiote, pineapple, lime, and cilantro. 

Are the tortilla chips at Chipotle gluten free? 

For essentially the most half, sure. The tortilla chips at Chipotle are constructed from corn and are wheat free, though the web site does say traces of gluten contamination are potential from the fields the place the corn is grown. 

Are the bowls at Chipotle gluten free?

So long as you don’t order a flour tortilla on the aspect, all the bowls at Chipotle are gluten free. Nevertheless, there may be some danger of unintended contamination.

Images: Julianne Tripp Hillian

We’re on a mission to investigate all the favored eating places close to you for what’s and isn’t gluten-free. When you’ve got a restaurant you need us to go to, please tell us! You possibly can contact us or ship us a DM on Instagram. Listed below are different guides we’ve got written to date: